Life on the Ranch and Brewery

Announcement!!!

I will be teaching English from July 2 – Nov 30 in Manizales in Colombia.  It’s halfway between Cali and Medellin, smack dab in the middle of the coffee region.  It has a famous yearly jazz festival and theater festival, I think both in September/October, so I’m very excited to add this to my calendar!  Also, it’s famous for being a university town and has between 6 and 7 universities in the area.  According to Wikipedia, 10% of the population is composed of students!  There are even mountains, rivers, and plenty of parks around the area!

I will get a salary, health insurance (for doctors within Colombia), and a bonus of $80 if I stay to the end of the commitment– which I will.  I will probably be working with a coteacher, but as with many programs in Colombia, you just adapt to whatever happens.  For instance, one person experienced a teacher strike that went on for a month!  Truly, you never know.

Here are three reasons why I’m particularly excited about this program and applied for it.

  1. I’ve been wanting to see if teaching was a good fit for me, specifically for older kids (high school or older). I’ve thought about teaching economics in high schools back in the states, and while I anticipate this to be a good fit for me, I don’t have any actual teaching experience in a classroom.  This would give me that.
  2. I’ve also been wanting to see if teaching English was a good fit, as many people live abroad by teaching English. Getting the TOEFL certification takes about a month and $1000, so I didn’t want to make that investment unless I knew this would be a good fit for me.
  3. I earn a (good) salary! I don’t anticipate I’ll be saving a lot of money, but I think I’ll save some, and it’s nice to earn actual money instead of just trading labor for a bed and food.  I know Walden says that trade poisons everything it touches (his reason for farming his own food and building his own house instead of working for money and using money to pay for those things), but as someone who has done both….salary (back in USA) and work-for-room-and-board (~25 hrs/wk through HelpX and workaway), I can say that it’s nice to earn actual money!

OK so announcement out of the way…

 

Life on the Ranch and Brewery

I learned that I suck at all things ranching.

I’m not super strong, I’m certainly not very experienced with ranch work, and what seemed so obvious and intuitive to them was foreign and unnatural for me.  But I did do a few things right: I tried to talk Spanish with the ranch guys (who had a heavy accent and made communication difficult) and I never complained once.  But it was definitely a more trying time for me psychically because I couldn’t express myself well (their English was at “hello”) and that’s important to me.

But I have a new best friend, Jimmie, the dog at the hostel!bty

My brewery experience, by contrast, is pretty much the opposite.  Well, I don’t know anything about beer, so it’s not exactly an opposite.  But the couple (Mario and Root) speak English, at least a little bit, and Root is fluent in English!  Also, the food here isn’t just meat-and-potatoes or meat-and-lentils or meat-and-soup or….you get it.  In fact, here at the brewery, there’s normally only meat for lunch or dinner, but not both – which is super nice for me because I got sick of meat and it’s also a lot healthier!  Also, she bakes fresh bread every two days!  Mmm bread and butter!

Life on the brewery is basically exactly as expected.  Roughly 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (sometimes Saturdays).  Actually, it’s a bit better than expected: the food is better than expected, and the people are way better than expected.  Root, a nice Thai woman, is former engineer and a really cool person, and I’m pleased to have gotten along so well with her.  She adds a nice homely touch.  Mario is also very gracious and kind, but he’s also the smartest person I’ve met in Chile.  I love talking politics, culture, economics, and history with him.  Keep in mind that I can only keep a conversation going on these topics because I studied economic development of South America for a course in college, am super interested in economic development (meaning I read and ask people these kinds of questions all over the world, and read books on the subject), and I also happen to be fairly conversant in Marxist and post-colonial theory as well.  He, on the other hand, never went to university and so only knows about this because he wants to be informed and he has such a perceptive and analytical mind.  Damn!

I feel much more settled than I have previously.  I think traveling means you are constantly on the go, and though I’ve taken steps to stay at places for much longer than most (Porvenir for 2 weeks, Ushuaia for 10 days, El Chalten for 11 days – whereas most people stayed at those places for a third of that time.   I haven’t felt very “settled” before on my journey.  This is the first place that I have felt this way, and it’s affected how I live – though I’m also staying here a month, the longest I’ve stayed anywhere, so I’m sure that’s a factor.

 

What is Joshua’s schedule/routine at the brewery?

Most days, I wake up early – my alarm goes off at 6:02am.  I usually watch an epiode of Gotham or Sense8 on Netflix.  Then, I get out of bed and make coffee and usually work on Spanish until we have breakfast from 9-10am.  Then we work from 10-3, have lunch from 3-4, and then have the rest of our day to do whatever we want.  Usually I do hikes in the afternoon.

 

Goals while living here

My big-picture goal, for the past two weeks at least, has been to do whatever I want to do whenever I want to do it.  This is one skill I’ve gotten better at, mostly because I’ve gotten better at pausing and realizing “why am I doing this?  I don’t want to do this right now!” and then I get up and go do whatever I actually want to do.

Physically, I have 4 daily goals I try to do every day: stretch, meditate, do sprints, and do 75 push-ups.  I can touch my toes when I pull myself toward them, and I can almost touch my toes when I stand up!  In my entire life, I can never recall a time when this was possible, and it’s a major goal of my SA time.  I also do 75 push-ups (not all at one time!) and meditate for 15 minutes almost every day, and lately I’ve been sprinting because I eat so much bread and don’t want to get fat!  😛  I’ve still gained weight though.

I also practice Spanish every day, spending a couple hours every day (2-3 hours?) to either review vocab, learn grammar, review grammar.  Then, I also use Spanish subtitles for any movie, TV show, or comedy video that I watch.  I also have a couple videos that I use for Spanish audio – though I admit that they speak so fast, it’s hard for me to keep up.

Lastly, I’m trying to change my food preferences.  I’m trying to be less picky with food!  I used to NOT like the following food items, but now I like them to such a degree that I will go out of my way to add them to my food.  Craziness!

  1. Chocolate
  2. Sweets – cakes, pies, cookies, etc.
  3. Nuts and seeds of all kinds (almonds, peanuts, chia seeds, everything)
  4. Caramel and Butter toffees
  5. Butter
  6. Bread (well, it’s homemade, and I’ve always liked homemade bread but still…I’m that guy that will buy bread, and I’ve NEVER been that guy!)
  7. Pickles
  8. Parmesan cheese

 

Enjoying Patagonian winter

I’m also really enjoying the winter here in Patagonia.  I’ve liked winter ever since I took note of the symbolisms of winter.  While I don’t like the cold that much, I’m also drawn to popularized themes of winter: renewal, cold, damp, dark, patience, healing, barren.  Very plutonic, if you follow astrology.  So yes, the symbols draw me more than the actual experience of winter, but I’m not going to lie…I’ve also been enjoying the actual experience of winter of Patagonia.  The mountains are gorgeous and covered in snow, and there are outdoor trails to go walking on through the bare and frozen woods.  I do a walk almost every day, though I usually do them to practice Spanish and my bare hands often freeze holding my Spanish notebook lol.  🙂  There’s ice on the roads in the early morning and in the evening (which means I can’t do my sprints at these times), and the gas lines are sometimes frozen when I wake in the morning, but still!  How cool!

davdavdavdav

2 thoughts on “Life on the Ranch and Brewery

  1. Josh, many thanks for this fascinating account of your adventures in Patagonia! Sounds like you have adjusted well and are doing well. I enjoy keeping up with you this way.

    Back in Texas, I’m about to teach three evening Vacation Bible School classes (Mon-Wed) this week. Then next Monday I’m going to Stony Point, NY for an annual retreat of the Board of Friends of Pakistan Education Board (FOPEB). That’s just three nights & I wish I had more time to actually visit NYC & UTS. Stony Point is about an hour from NYC, but I fly into Newark and do not even touch NYC.

    Keep on having a great experience there!

    Tom

    Like

Leave a Reply

